European Statistical System Committee (ESSC)

The European Statistical System Committee (ESSC) was established by Regulation (EC) No 223/2009 of the European Parliament and Council of 11 March 2009 on European statistics. According to Article 7 of this Regulation, the task of ESSC is to provide professional guidance to the ESS for developing, producing and disseminating European statistics.

The ESSC is chaired by the Commission (Eurostat) and composed of the representatives of Member States' National Statistical Institutes. EEA and EFTA countries’ National Statistical Institutes participate as observers. Observers from ECB, OECD, etc. may also participate in the meetings of the ESSC. It meets four times a year.

Relevant link: